Fanthropological

#11 - Coca-Cola Fans

Fanthropological
#11 - Coca-Cola Fans
/

This week, we take a 0 calorie (but still great taste) break as we talk about Coca-Cola Fans! Who are Coca-Cola Fans? What sets them apart from other collectors? Why do they start? Relax, and enjoy! Also, this episode was not sponsored at all (surprisingly). Everyone's a fan! Find more like this: [fanthropological.com](http://fanthropological.com) Find us on social media Twitter: [@thenickscast](http://twitter.com/thenickscast) Instagram: [@thenickscast](http://instagram.com/thenickscast) Facebook: [fb.com/thenickscast](http://fb.com/thenickscast) Youtube: [youtube.com/thenickscast](http://youtube.com/thenickscast) Email us about fandoms you want to hear about: [nick@thenickscast.com](mailto:nick@thenickscast.com) Play-by-play 00:00 - Cold Open 00:06 - Theme Song 00:26 - Introduction 01:38 - Who are Coca-Cola Fans? 02:44 - Trivia 22:19 - What is it about Coca Cola Fans? 48:08 - Fans of the week 55:48 - Spotlight: [Dani Oliver (Pixel Artist)](http://ahruon.tumblr.com/) 57:39 - Goodbye! 58:54 - Outtakes Citations ["The Coca-Cola Collectors Club - The Coca-Cola Collectors Club"](http://www.cocacolacollectors.club/wp/) ["For collector, 300K things go better with Coca-Cola | Lubbock Online | Lubbock Avalanche-Journal"](http://lubbockonline.com/not-online/2016-10-09/collector-300k-things-go-better-coca-cola#.WBd2Y7vLgVE) ["My Coke collection: 'I love 90s stuff' | Life and style | The Guardian"](https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2016/jul/24/my-coke-collection-i-love-stuff-from-the-90s) ["Bidders 'Taste The Feeling' Of Coca-Cola Advertising"](http://www.antiquesandthearts.com/bidders-taste-the-feelingof-coca-cola-advertising/) ["Going ga-ga for all things Coca-Cola - The Rakyat Post - The Rakyat Post"](http://www.therakyatpost.com/life/2016/05/07/going-ga-ga-for-all-things-coca-cola/) ["Fizzy mood at collectors' fair - Community | The Star Online"](http://www.thestar.com.my/metro/community/2016/05/16/fizzy-mood-at-collectors-fair-soft-drinks-80th-anniversary-celebrated-in-malaysia- with-memorabilia-e/) ["LaGrange Daily News | Vanishing Troup: History of the Coke bottle"](http://www.lagrangenews.com/2016/07/16/vanishing-troup-history-of-the-coke-bottle/) ["Coca-Cola Collection"](http://kwqc.com/2016/09/01/coca-cola-collection/) ["A public rant: Diet Coke with Lime : cocacola"](https://www.reddit.com/r/cocacola/comments/4ed43d/a_public_rant_diet_coke_with_lime/) ["Coca-Cola Cookbook | Warehouse of Weird"](https://www.warehouseofweird.co.uk/food-drink/coca-cola-cookbook/) ["10 Strange Coca-Cola Flavors From Around the World"](http://thefw.com/weird-coke-flavors/) [""We only sell Pepsi, is that okay?" : cocacola"](https://www.reddit.com/r/cocacola/comments/46hu7o/we_only_sell_pepsi_is_that_okay/) ["My Coke-Cow | Collectors Weekly"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/stories/176612-my-coke-cow?in=92) ["Coca cola swastika ae22 medallion | Collectors Weekly"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/stories/154157-coca-cola-swastika-ae22-medallion?in=92) ["Coke Captures Cola Fandom in First-Ever User-Generated Ad"](http://brandchannel.com/2014/05/21/coke-captures-cola-fandom-in-first-ever-user-generated-ad/) ["Starting Your Private Coca-Cola Collection"](http://www.coca-cola.ca/stories/starting-your-private-coca-cola-collection) ["Coca Cola Antiques and Collectibles - Collector Information"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/coca-cola/overview) ["About Me - Blaine Martin's Guide to Vintage Coca-Cola Memorabilia"](http://earlycoke.com/about-me.html) ["Coca-Cola's Historian and Archivist Talks About His Favorite Frosty Beverage"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/articles/an-interview-with-coca-cola-historian-and-archivist-phil-mooney/) ["Schmidt Museum of Coca-Cola Memorabilia - Elizabethtown, Kentucky"](http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/schmidt-museum-of-coca-cola) ["Coca-Cola Auction: Largest Collection of Memorabilia Hits the Block"](http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/24/coca-cola-auction_n_1299897.html) ["Coca Cola Inventor's Grave - Columbus, Georgia"](http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/coca-cola-inventors-grave) ["What's It Worth? Collectors Guess the Value of Rare Coke Memorabilia"](http://www.coca-colacompany.com/coca-cola-unbottled/whats-it-worth-collectors-guess-the-value-of-rare-coke-memorabilia) ["The Coca-Cola Collectors Club"](http://www.cocacolacollectors.club/wp/) ["ALWAYS COCA_COLA 1-1 by DarkPharaoh on DeviantArt"](http://www.deviantart.com/art/ALWAYS-COCA-COLA-1-1-20901649) ["Coca-Cola by Ry-Spirit on DeviantArt"](http://ry-spirit.deviantart.com/art/Coca-Cola-244175338) ["For Amarillo Collector, 300K Things Go Better With Coca-Cola"](http://amarillo.com/news/local-news/2016-09-29/amarillo-collector-300k-things-go-better-coca-cola) ["San Fran Fizzes Over 'Ghost' Coca-Cola Sign"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/articles/san-fran-fizzes-over-ghost-coca-cola-sign/) ["Coca-Cola Collector Explains Why Things Go Better With Coke"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/articles/an-interview-with-coca-cola-bottle-and- memorabilia-collector-bobby-liao/) ["Coca-Cola Author Doug McCoy on the Beverage Company's Bottles"](http://www.collectorsweekly.com/articles/an-interview-with-coca-cola-bottle-collector-and-author-doug-mccoy/) ["Coca-Cola: Collector Obsessed with the Real Thing"](http://pilotonline.com/life/coca-cola-collector-obsessed-with-the-real-thing/article_53d4b228-29be-5de6-8a1f-c309871bf286.html) ["The Fandom Phenomenon: Winning Over Today's Super Fans"](https://www.spredfast.com/social-marketing-blog/fandom-phenomenon-winning-over-todays-super-fans) ["Guide to the 2015 MTV Fandom Awards and Fan Fest at San Diego Comic-Con"](https://nerdgeist.com/2015/06/30/guide-to-the-2015-mtv-fandom-awards-and-fan-fest-at-san-diego-comic-con/) ["The Claus That Refreshes: Was the modern image of Santa Claus created by the Coca-Cola Company?"](http://www.snopes.com/holidays/christmas/santa/cocacola.asp) ["#OutofOffice: Coke Executive Moonlights as Young Adult Novelist"](http://www.coca- colacompany.com/stories/outofoffice-coke-executive-moonlights-as-young-adult-novelist) ["Coca-Cola: A Meta Symbol?"](https://foodacrossborderz.wordpress.com/2010/12/26/coca-cola-a-meta-symbol/) ["Coke Captures Cola Fandom in First-Ever User-Generated Ad"](http://brandchannel.com/2014/05/21/coke-captures-cola-fandom-in-first-ever-user-generated-ad/) ["The Pitfalls of Relying on Brand Fandom: Part 1"](https://www.qualitylogoproducts.com/blog/pitfalls-of-brand-fandom-part-1/) ["Collector Connections: Coca-Cola Unites Fans Worldwide"](http://www.coca-colajourney.com.au/stories/collector-connections-coca-cola-unites-fans-worldwide) ["Coca-Cola fan decks out house in memorabilia: 'I drank a can between Austria and Germany... my lightbulb moment'"](http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/news/7216422/Coca-Cola-fan-decks-out-house-in-memorabilia-I-drank-a-can-between-Austria-and-Germany-my-lightbulb-moment.html) ["The Psychology of Collecting - Wikipedia"](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychology_of_collecting) ["Gaming Fandom Sweeps New York: How Brands Fit Into E-Sports Matches"](http://adage.com/article/cmo-strategy/league-legends/300073/) Credits Music: All music this week comes via our very own composer, G! Logo: ["Glasses"](https://thenounproject.com/term/glasses/132894) by [Anton Anuchin](https://thenounproject.com/antonwebium) used under [CC BY 3.0 US](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/) ["Soda"](https://thenounproject.com/term/soda/576204) by [Chanut is Industries](https://thenounproject.com/chanut-is) used under [CC BY 3.0 US](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/) ["Soda Bottle"](https://thenounproject.com/term/soda-bottle/715021) by [Effach](https://thenounproject.com/francois.hardy.359) used under [CC BY 3.0 US](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/)
Brought to you by The Nickscast of Fanthropological